Children's books

Welcome to the Sir Terry Pratchett Forums
Register here for the Sir Terry Pratchett forum and message boards.

Mrs Ogg

Constable
Nov 26, 2011
Australia
When my 11 year old daughter and I met Sir Terry in April of last year he suggested a set of books for her to read that he read when young. They are the Moomintroll series written by Tove Jansson and she loved them, so just thought I'd share the masters suggested books for other young children who love reading :laugh:

deldaisy

Sergeant-at-Arms
Oct 1, 2010
Brisbane, Australia
I happened across this thing about dubious childrens books.... :laugh: :laugh:

Why did the talking pinata cross the road with a boy carrying a baseball bat?
I have been collecting funny, vintage children's books for many years. And by funny, I don't mean ha-ha funny. I mean - Oh, my god, what were they thinking?! funny. Today I picked up these gems at a used book sale.

Do you think that talking pinata should be a little bit worried that Todd is carrying a baseball bat while he thoughtfully explains the true meaning of sacrifice? What are the chances that road leads to a birthday party?
Any other "inappropriate" or strange ones YOU can remember?

Attachments

deldaisy

Sergeant-at-Arms
Oct 1, 2010
Brisbane, Australia
MongoGutman said:
Here's a story I wrote intended as a childrens book - never really tried to get it published though.

http://mongostapestry.multiply.com/journal/item/22
And WHY did you never try to get it published?

It meets all MY requirements for a kids books.... I can SEE the pictures in my head when I read it.

Would love to see the artwork for it...

Did you know there is a 'formular" for most kids books?.... a set number of pages (set ups for publishing)