Which is better for my Pirate fantasy fiction

Welcome to the Sir Terry Pratchett Forums
Register here for the Sir Terry Pratchett forum and message boards.
L

lwhitehead

Help with my idea for a Pirate novel series

Hi first off I'm a big fan of Discworld series, but more inportantly I'm a hopeful Writer also I've got Asbergers.

My setting is a world with Seven Seas and one River Styx, (My first problem what to call this world.

The era is that of Baroque 1650 to 1750, what I want to do is set the timeframe in 21th century but some of you might feel that I'm ripping off Discworld on that.

(my second problem is what do I call the sea going nations of the Baroque era, England, France, Spain and Dutch).

Now each sea has an official Pirate group like which handles all Sea based crime and Piracy to one who doesn't have there official tattoo and colors woe to them, there lives would worth a copper.

The Life Clipper: My Reaper is called Charon the ferryman his boat is the Coffin ship the Life Clipper, he sails the Seven seas fishing the dead from the seas and stacking them below like cord wood. His ship is crewed by Skeltons and sails from the underworld along the River Styx enter the mortal world which the river emtpies into the Acheron sea from the island of Le Mort into what is known as the Dead sea, the sea itself is so full of salt that a person can't sink but floats but one still can die to lack of freash water and food due to the fact that nothing living swims in that sea.

LW

Tonyblack

Super Moderator
City Watch
Jul 25, 2008
Cardiff, Wales
Hi LW and welcome to the site! :laugh:

I like the ideas you've sketched here. Have you done any research on the subject of pirates and the sailing ships of the period?

Many pirates were actually employed by nations such as Britain to harrass the ships of other nations rather than them using their navies.