Help!!! S.O.S!

Welcome to the Sir Terry Pratchett Forums
Register here for the Sir Terry Pratchett forum and message boards.
Hey guys and girls,

I'm very new to the whole forum business but i am getting very desperate for help here and where else to come then to the Terry Pratchett enthusiasts themselves?

Now i've heard about Mr. Pratchett since i was going on 10 years old (now 20) and over my years online have encountered many a friend that is a fan of the disc world series but no-one would explain to me what they are!

And now i reach the purpose of my topic. My partner is VERY enthusiastic about the television adaptations of his work, and she made me watch Going Postal and i was absolutly amazed by it!

So question: what is the disc world series in lamen terms? And where do i start in the discworld series?

I'd appreciate any advice or information given as i want to start reading them as soon as possible.

Many Thanks

:)

poohcarrot

Sergeant-at-Arms
Sep 13, 2009
NOT The land of the risen Son!!
Hi FB 0203

If you've seen Going Postal, I'd advise reading Going Postal. You'll get a lot more from the book than from the Sky production. If you enjoy that, give Guards Guards a shot, then Witches Abroad. That'll give you a basic grounding for all the Watch and Witches books.

Or, my fave is Pyramids - a stand alone one-off.

(Though everybody will probably argue with me coz these Pratchett fans are a right stroppy lot. :laugh: )

Tonyblack

Super Moderator
City Watch
Jul 25, 2008
Cardiff, Wales
Welcome funkybuddah_0203! :laugh:

I agree with Pooh - read the book of Going Postal and then start with Guards! Guards! as it's a great book to be introduced to Ankh-Morpork (largest city on the Discworld). That's the first of the City Watch books, so if you enjoy that, try Men At Arms, Feet of Clay, Jingo etc. afterwards.

You've got a real treat ahead of you. :laugh:

Jan Van Quirm

Sergeant-at-Arms
Nov 7, 2008
Dunheved, Kernow
www.janhawke.me.uk
Sjoerd3000 said: