The City Watch books

Welcome to the Sir Terry Pratchett Forums
Register here for the Sir Terry Pratchett forum and message boards.

Beyond Birthday

Lance-Corporal
Nov 11, 2010
Hey, I'm a little new to Terry Pratchett books and, since so far I've only read some of the 'The City Watch' series I thought that my first topic should be about that. So far I've read

1.) THUD!: the first Pratchett novel I read and also my favorite. I get the feeling the title was originally supposed to be "Awesome Stuff Happens". Aside from Vimes I'd say Angua got the most attention here. Also Carrot's reaction to dwarf technology is just plain funny.

2.) Night Watch: the second one I read and also my second favorite. Vimes kind of reminds me of Roy Mustang meets a more pragmatic version of Batman here. While the whole time travel plot has been done before Terry somehow still manages to make it sound fresh.

3.) Guards! Guards!: The one I'm currently reading and enjoying the least amount (but only because the other two were so awesome). Vimes is a slightly different character here but that's to be expected. I didn't like how most of the book was revealed in the first twenty pages and even though I get that it deconstructs the idiocy of "guy slays dragon and becomes king" plot it still makes all of Ankh-Morpork seem as dumb as Bobby Hill. Although I guess part of that comes from general apathy and forgetting what life used to be like under Winder and Snapcase. I still really enjoy this book, though, despite what it may seem like.

There seems to be a "Rising from the ashes" theme with this series, as both the Watch as well as the entire city become more and more powerful and cunning with every book. What's also interesting is how the Ankh-Morpork of Night Watch (that is past Ankh-Morpork) is more like the Ankh-Morpork of THUD! in that the citizens are a lot more cunning in general, as opposed to the more opulent-acting Ankh-Morpork of Guards! Guards!